Baseball Beat: Friday, January 16th

Here is the rundown for the Friday, January 16th edition of Baseball Beat with Charley Steiner live from Los Angeles, California.  All times eastern.

1:03 p.m.
Guest: Buster Olney, ESPN
1:32 p.m.
Guest: Richard Justice, Houston Chronicle
1:48 p.m.
Guest: Tyler Kepner, New York Times (Yankees Beat)
2:03 p.m.
Guest: Thomas Boswell, Washington Post
2:32 p.m.
Guest: Gordon Edes, Yahoo! Sports

Guest Summaries:
Olney discussed national headlines including the surprising amount of remaining free agents, belief the 2009 trade deadline will be very active, Manny Ramirez status and feeling he’ll return to the Los Angeles Dodgers, Jason Varitek’s only destination is Boston, and Orlando Hudson not in a good situation.  Justice discussed national headlines including how Roger Clemens can reclaim his legacy and name around the country, needs to start repairing his name in Houston, reality has hit Roger Clemens hard, and how Clemens view of the world has changed.  Kepner discussed the New York Yankees including how much George Steinbrenner is missed in New York and baseball and opening of the New Yankee Stadium.  Boswell discussed national headlines including Washington Nationals with money to spend on a free agent and economic times hitting remaining free agents.  Edes discussed national headlines including Jason Varitek’s on-going talks or lack thereof with the Boston Red Sox, Kevin Youkilis contact extension, Manny Ramirez future home, and different market place for today’s free agents.

Tunes Summary:
1:28 p.m.
I Fought the Law and the Law Won by Bobby Fuller Four
1:48 p.m.
Hello Goodbye by The Beatles
2:32 p.m.
Already Gone by The Eagles
2:50 p.m.
The End by The Doors
Happy Trails by Roy Rogers

Updated: 2:58 p.m.

11 responses to “Baseball Beat: Friday, January 16th

  1. I don’t know who will read this in the future, but thanks to everyone affiliated with the Beat for a great listening experience. As a new father, I recorded the show and would listen on my headphones while rocking my daughter to sleep. Two great loves were joined together! Charley will not starve, but I am sad for myself and other listeners who felt like we had inside information on clubhouses, executive suites, and “the game within the game.” Hopefully, this platform will be picked up as a podcast somewhere. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  2. WTF?!?! THIS program — the Baseball Beat — is the #1 reason I subscribe to XM, and the first show I tell my friends about when I say why they should subscribe to XM.

    I don’t want this to sound like I’m bashing the other XM programs, but the fact is that there is NO OTHER show on XM/Sirius that actually tries to enlighten/educate/inform its listeners by interviewing those people who actually know what’s going on in MLB. Charlie isn’t just blah-blah-blahing his opinion, and he doesn’t brown-nose to players & MLB execs (who aren’t saying what’s REALLY going on in the Game, anyway).

    I’m VERY disappointed in XM/Sirius.

    Charlie & crew, thank you for countless great interviews and insights, and hundreds of hours of entertainment. I hope you’ll be able to do The Beat on another platform soon so we can follow you there.

  3. It was one of my favorite shows on XM and one of the reasons I subscribe to XM radio. I am a 5 year subscriber and XM175 is a fantastic way to cut down my beltway drives. Charlie, you and your show will be missed,, I will listen to your LA broadcasts when I can. I hope they know what they are doing over at the newly merged company.

    Happy trails in to the sunset CS.

  4. This is just getting plain bananas. XM 175 as we know it is gone. The beat was my favorite show and THE only reason I pay for radio.
    Charlie, we’ll miss you and stop over sometime for an adult beverage…

  5. Dear Charley and producer:

    Many thanks for the great hours of listening. It is/was a great program, and it’s another sign that XM/Sirius is failing in its decisions. It thoroughly enjoyed the two hours of writers/broadcasters, and I relished the two hours sans dumb jocks and moronic callers.

    Best wishes for Charley. You will be missed by intelligent listeners, and I guess I’ll have to tune into the Dodgers more frequently from now on.

  6. another reason to pay for xm gone. i do not recognize #175 anymore. i am sure someone i have never heard of will be on Monday babbling!

  7. Short & Sweet, I will miss the info I received listening to The Beat. I will however not miss hearing a guy who loves hearing his own voice going on and on and on . . . Good luck Charlie S. I still had a lot of fun tuning in.

  8. Charley, I am saddened that the new execs at XM are not bright enough to realize that your program was the best show on XM. I have been a loyal fan for 4 years and have to admit when I tuned in and you were on vacation, I tuned out. You will truly be missed. And a message to XM – my renewal subscription is now in “sirius” jeopardy!

  9. Charley,

    Thanks for years of great pleasure.

    I hope you come back on another station

    Hugs,

    Sue

  10. Charley,

    My late Mother and I used to listen to you on Wor as a kid.

    You and Bill Mazur and my favorite broadcasters of all time!

    Good luck,

    Jeff

    Goodluck,

    Jeff

  11. Like many of you, I am so sad to see XM cancel this show. It was by far the best show on 175… intelligent, newsy, colloquial… what is happening to our XM, and why won’t XM answer our emails. Charley, maybe you should start a podcast!!

    What a true disappointment….

Leave a comment